Reviews

Submagic review: captions and clips for gameplay

Submagic review for gameplay: 2, 5 and 30-minute caps, credit maths, the Magic Clips add-on, no-refund terms, and a checklist for a trial on your own VOD.

The verdict of this Submagic review: it is a captions-first tool with a clipping add-on, and for gameplay it makes most sense as the last step on a clip you have already cut. Its help centre caps each video at 2, 5 or 30 minutes by plan and none of the pages we read mention Twitch or Kick, yet its gaming page invites you to drop in a full stream. Until that gap is explained, do not buy it to find clips in a multi-hour VOD.

No score on this page. A score needs a logged test, and none has been run.

Your stream against its plans

Arithmetic from published rules, not a test

Submagic

208 or 247 Magic Clips credits a month

  • ShortStarter$19.00/moShort by 163 to 202
  • ShortPro$39.00/moShort by 88 to 127
  • FitsBusiness$69.00/moFits on either reading

Compare every tool in the calculator

Sections on this page (10)

Disclosure: VodClipsLab has not joined any affiliate program, so links here earn nothing today. How we handle affiliates.

This review rests on Submagic’s pricing and gaming pages, its help articles and its terms, read on 8 November 2026.

What the published evidence supports for a long VOD

Submagic’s documentation points two ways on long streams, and the conflict is the main thing a streamer needs to resolve. Here is what each source says:

  • The length-limit help article says the limit is 2 minutes on Starter, 5 on Professional and 30 on Business, “per video” for upload and export, with a maximum file size of 3,000 MB. The pricing page lists the same 2, 5 and 30 minutes.
  • The gaming page says “Drop in a full stream, a VOD or a gameplay recording you already have”, shows “A 3-hour stream” as an example, and says Magic Clips finds the strongest moments in a long stream.
  • The Magic Clips guide describes turning “long-form videos like podcasts, interviews, or webinars” into clips. It states no length limit.

The likeliest reading is that the 2, 5 and 30-minute caps apply to the standard editor and Magic Clips has separate limits, but none of these pages says that. The Custom plan’s mention of “Custom Magic Clips limits” suggests limits exist. Ask support for the Magic Clips limit on your plan, in writing, before paying.

How Submagic’s two workflows work

Submagic has two main paths from its dashboard, and they suit different streamers.

Captions on a finished clip. Upload a short video, choose a caption theme, and edit from there. AI Auto Edit is a one-click version that applies captions, b-roll, transitions, zooms and pacing. For a streamer, this is the use the evidence supports best: cut the moment elsewhere, then bring in a clip under your plan’s length limit.

Magic Clips from a long video. The guide, updated 28 October 2026, runs as follows:

  1. On the dashboard choose Get Magic Clips. If you lack access, the guide says to click Upgrade Plan or go to My Account, then Add Magic Clips.
  2. Paste a YouTube URL, upload a file, or use a public Google Drive link. Twitch and Kick links are not listed.
  3. Wait. The guide says processing can take 10 to 25 minutes, depending on length.
  4. Review a list the guide says will be 20+ clips, each with a preview, transcript and virality score.
  5. Trim on the timeline or remove lines from the transcript.
  6. Edit captions, add a hook title, b-roll, transitions and effects, then export.

Reasoning, not a result: a streamer without a YouTube copy would have to upload a file or host one on Drive. With a 3,000 MB file limit, if that limit applies to Magic Clips, a long VOD would need heavy compression or splitting before it even uploads.

Pricing and credits, as of 8 November 2026

Submagic’s pricing page, shown in USD, lists:

Plan Monthly Billed yearly (per month) Credits a month Max video length Export
Starter $19 $12 ($144 a year) 45 2 minutes 1080p, 30 FPS
Pro $39 $23 ($276 a year) 120 5 minutes 2K, 30 FPS (see below)
Business $69 $41 ($492 a year) 300 30 minutes 4K, 60 FPS

Prices are per member. A Custom plan is contact-sales. All three paid plans are listed as “No watermark”. Credit rules, updated 28 October 2026: an upload costs 3 credits, AI Captions are free, other AI features cost 1 to 3, and Magic Clips cost 8 credits each. Credits can be topped up from account settings. The 15, 40 and 100 videos on the plan cards is the same allowance expressed as uploads, since 45, 120 and 300 credits divided by 3 gives those figures.

Arithmetic using those figures, for one upload and Magic Clips only:

Plan Credits Most Magic Clips from one upload
Starter 45 5 (3 + 5 x 8 = 43 credits)
Pro 120 14 (3 + 14 x 8 = 115 credits)
Business 300 37 (3 + 37 x 8 = 299 credits)

That sits awkwardly beside the guide’s 20+ clips per run. If each clip in such a list cost 8 credits, one run would use 163 credits or more, which exceeds Starter and Pro. The help articles do not say whether the 8 credits are charged when a clip is generated or only when you open or export it.

They also describe Magic Clips both as “an addon subscription” and as a per-clip credit cost, without saying how the two fit together. The add-on’s price is not on the pages we read. Credit expiry and rollover are not stated. For the cost maths see Submagic pricing.

The pricing page still has two inconsistencies. Pro export is 1080p on the plan card and “1080p, 2K” in the comparison table; the export help article says 2K, which matches the table. API minutes are 100 a month on the cards but 10, 10 and 100 in the table.

Captions for gameplay audio

Submagic’s published caption claims are specific but conditional. The accuracy help article says its subtitling averages 98.8% accuracy “under optimal conditions” and that audio quality, technical terms and brand names affect it. That is the vendor’s figure, and we have not measured it.

Reasoning, not a result: gameplay is not an optimal condition. Game sound and voice share one mix, callouts are clipped, and game names, agent names and map callouts behave like the technical terms the article warns about. The pricing page lists a custom words dictionary, so confirm it is on your plan and add your recurring terms before judging accuracy. The planned caption accuracy test will measure this. The languages article lists 48+ languages.

Your source file also matters. Submagic’s format guidance asks for MP4 or MOV, H.264 or HEVC, no decimal frame rates such as 29.97 or 59.94, and SDR Rec 709 colour. If you capture at 59.94 FPS or in HDR, convert before upload to avoid the problems that article describes. Submagic is web-focused and has no native mobile app.

Trial, refunds and cancelling

Submagic’s trial is limited and its refund position is firm. The trial article says you can upload 3 short videos, and adds that a subscription lets you “download it without a watermark”, which implies trial downloads may be watermarked. Trial length is not stated.

Section 12 of the terms says “All monthly and annual fees are non-refundable”, and a help article says the same. Annual subscriptions renew unless cancelled before the anniversary. To cancel, go to your profile, then My Account, then Access Stripe Portal and Manage plan. You can also pause for a few months. So choose monthly billing until you know the product suits you.

Rights and data

Submagic’s terms say “You retain all rights to the Content you submit.” Users grant its operator, Turbo Studio, a “worldwide, non-exclusive license to use, modify, reproduce, and distribute” content on and through the platform, with an opt-out of promotional use by emailing support. The licence to use the platform is described as “personal, non-transferable, and non-exclusive”, which is worth reading if you run a channel as a business, because commercial use of outputs is not explicitly stated. AI training is not stated. The service is for people aged 18 or over. The page has an unfilled “[email address]” placeholder and shows no last-updated date.

Who should shortlist Submagic

  • Streamers who already cut clips and want animated captions without opening a full editor, especially if those clips run under 2 minutes.
  • Teams: seats rise from 1 to 3 to unlimited by plan.
  • Creators who want b-roll, zooms and transitions applied in one pass to a short video.

Who should not buy it

  • Streamers who need to import a 3 to 6 hour VOD by Twitch or Kick link. Neither is listed; start with the long-VOD roundup instead.
  • Anyone who needs to predict monthly cost from stream hours, since credits count uploads and clips.
  • Anyone who needs a refund as a safety net.
  • Business-plan buyers whose only reason is the 30-minute cap, because even that is far from a full stream.

See AI captions for gaming shorts and Submagic alternatives for other options.

What to check in a free trial on one of your own VODs

  1. Length. Upload a clip just over your plan’s limit. Does it reject it, trim it, or accept it?
  2. Input. Ask support whether Magic Clips takes a Twitch or Kick link, and the longest file it accepts.
  3. Add-on price. What does Magic Clips cost on your account before checkout?
  4. Credits. Does the balance fall by 3 on upload? When exactly do the 8 credits per Magic Clip come off?
  5. Caption accuracy. Pick a 60-second section with loud game audio and count errors against your own transcript.
  6. Placement. Do captions cover the killfeed or HUD?
  7. Clip choice. If Magic Clips accepts your file, would you post what it picks?

Head-to-head context is on OpusClip vs Submagic; the full list is in reviews. How clips would be rated is described in our methodology.

Unknowns that remain

Magic Clips length and file limits, the add-on price, how the add-on and per-clip credits interact, trial length, credit validity, Twitch and Kick support and whether uploads train any model are not confirmed from the Submagic pages we read.

Last checked 8 November 2026. Prices and limits change; we re-check monthly.

Not tested yet

What a real test of this would need. None of it has been run.

  • Owner-licensed or own gaming VOD, exact tool plan and version logged, raw outputs archived, clips scored by blind rater against the published rubric

Sources

  1. Submagic pricingPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  2. Submagic help: how much does it costPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  3. Submagic help: Magic Clips step-by-step guidePrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  4. Submagic help: size and video length limitPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  5. Submagic help: free trialPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  6. Submagic help: video formatsPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  7. Submagic help: subtitle accuracyPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  8. Submagic help: export qualityPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  9. Submagic help: languagesPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  10. Submagic help: mobile appPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  11. Submagic help: cancel a planPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  12. Submagic help: refund policyPrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  13. Submagic gaming pagePrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026
  14. Submagic terms of usePrimary source, read Nov 8, 2026

Up and down to move. Enter to open.