Reviews
Klap review for gaming VODs
Klap review for gaming VODs: per-clip pricing, the 3-hour source cap, speech-led clip selection, refund rules and how to run a low-risk trial on your VOD.
Klap prices by clips rather than minutes, which can suit a streamer with long VODs, and its “How Klap works” page lists Twitch and Kick among the links you can paste. This Klap review stops short of a recommendation for gameplay-heavy streams, because Klap’s own pages say clip selection works from what is said. Shortlist it if your VODs have steady commentary and fit a 3-hour limit; the most reliable way to evaluate it is one paid month inside the first-month refund window.
No score on this page. A score needs a logged test, and none has been run.
Your stream against its plans
Arithmetic from published rules, not a test
Klap
2 clips a stream, 26 a month
- Over limitBasic$29.00/moOver its 3-hour limit. Split first.
- Over limitPro$79.00/moOver its 3-hour limit. Split first.
- Over limitPro+$189.00/moOver its 3-hour limit. Split first.
Sections on this page (9)
Disclosure: VodClipsLab has not joined any affiliate program, so links here earn nothing today. How we handle affiliates.
This review uses Klap’s pricing page (prices last updated 4 November 2026), its How Klap works page and billing help (both updated 4 November 2026), its generator page, terms and privacy policy, read on 8 November 2026.
How Klap’s workflow is documented
Klap’s documented workflow is six steps, and most of the control sits at the start and in the editor.
- Add a video. Paste a link from YouTube, Twitch, Kick, Vimeo, Loom, Google Drive, Dropbox or any direct video link, or upload MP4, MOV or WebM up to 10 GB. Paid plans take videos up to 3 hours.
- Klap picks moments. It transcribes the video, then its AI reads the timestamped transcript and picks moments that stand alone. Each gets a virality score from 0 to 100 with a short explanation.
- Reframing. AI Reframe 2 keeps the active speaker in frame. For “Gameplay with a facecam”, the listed layouts are Split, Gaming and Gaming 2.
- Captions. Animated captions in the video’s language, which you can edit, restyle or translate. Klap lists 99+ languages.
- Editing. A browser editor for cuts, framing, captions, b-roll, hook titles, logos and saved templates.
- Export or schedule. MP4 in 9:16, 1:1, 4:5 or 16:9, up to 4K with no watermark on paid plans, or post to TikTok, YouTube, Instagram, LinkedIn and Facebook.
Two controls matter for streamers. You can steer the search with a prompt such as “funny moments” or your own wording, and you can set clip length to Auto, under 30 seconds, 30 to 60 seconds or 1 to 2 minutes. On Auto, Klap generates up to 30 clips and keeps other moments as drafts, which count against your plan only if you generate them.
The generator page, which is vendor marketing, mentions only a YouTube link or file upload in its steps, while saying “Twitch and Kick VODs are gold for TikTok”. The How Klap works page is the more complete and more recent description of inputs.
The gaming question: speech-led selection
Klap describes clip selection as depending on speech, which is the central risk for gameplay. The How Klap works page says “Clip selection works on any content where there’s speech, because the AI picks moments from what’s being said”, and describes its gaming use as “Commentary moments and reactions”. It also says clips “Only use words from the transcript”.
There is one wrinkle. The privacy policy says Google (Gemini) “receives the video when it has no speech to transcribe”. That suggests some handling exists for no-speech video, but the product pages do not describe what it does, and we do not know how well it picks moments.
Reasoning, not a result: expect a chatty variety stream to give Klap more to work with than a focused ranked session. A clutch with no callout may never surface. A game-audio-heavy VOD may also hurt transcription, which would then affect both selection and captions, so the trial should include both kinds of stretch.
The 3-hour limit on long streams
Klap’s 3-hour source limit is the hard constraint for marathon streamers. Its pricing page and How Klap works page both give 3 hours as the source maximum on paid plans, and neither says whether the free trial accepts the same length.
Reasoning, not a result: a 5 or 6 hour stream cannot go in as one video. You would need to trim or split the recording first. Clip-based billing softens the cost of splitting, because two 3-hour halves cost no more than one video would, provided you generate the same number of clips. If you would rather process a whole marathon in one job, the long-VOD roundup is a better starting point.
Pricing, as of 8 November 2026
Klap’s pricing page, in US dollars:
| Plan | Monthly | Yearly (effective per month) | Clips | Per clip, monthly billing | Per clip, yearly billing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $29 | $174 ($14.50) | 100 a month | $0.29 | $0.145 |
| Pro | $79 | $474 ($39.50) | 300 a month | $0.26 | $0.13 |
| Pro+ | $189 | $1,134 ($94.50) | 1,000 a month | $0.19 | $0.09 |
The per-clip columns are our arithmetic from those prices, assuming every clip is used. Each short counts as one clip, and source length does not use up the plan. Monthly plans refill each billing period. Yearly plans are one upfront payment and grant the whole year’s clips in one pool: 1,200, 3,600 or 12,000. All plans include unlimited social accounts. Seat counts are not stated.
What this means for a VOD: if you leave clip count on Auto and receive 30 clips per stream, Basic’s 100 clips cover three streams and a bit. That is why setting the clip count yourself matters. Asking for 10 clips per stream would cover 10 streams a month on Basic. The API is priced separately at $0.44 per input video, $0.32 per short and $0.48 per export.
Trial, refunds and cancelling
Klap’s free trial covers one video with no card, and you can preview and edit its clips, but downloading and posting need a paid plan. A trial therefore shows you what Klap selects, not your finished file. Whether trial previews carry any branding is not stated.
Refunds are unusually clear, according to Klap’s billing help:
- First month, monthly or yearly plan: full refund if you are not satisfied.
- After the first month, monthly plan: the payments for your most recent unused months in a row, up to 3.
- After the first month, yearly plan: 1/12 of the yearly price for each of your most recent fully elapsed unused months in a row, up to 3.
A month counts as unused only if you processed no new video in it. Cancel first, then take the refund on your billing page or ask support.
To cancel, open klap.app/billing, click the three-dot menu on your plan’s row, choose Cancel and confirm. Access runs to the end of the paid period. Posts scheduled past that date are removed, and Klap warns you first. Plans renew automatically.
Decision rule: since the trial stops short of an export, the first paid month is the real test, and the first-month refund makes that low-risk. Start on Basic monthly rather than yearly so you risk $29, not $174, while you find out.
Terms and data
Klap’s terms are short and leave gaps, while its privacy policy is more detailed. The terms (last updated 25 July 2024) do not state who owns uploaded content or outputs, do not address commercial use of clips, and do not mention AI training. They make you responsible for having the rights to what you submit. The operator is ZIGG SAS in France, and French law governs.
The privacy policy, updated 1 October 2026, says:
- Video files are stored with Google Cloud in the United States, and content stays until you delete it or your account, plus up to 30 days in backups.
- Transcripts and clipping instructions go to OpenRouter, the model providers it routes to, and OpenAI.
- Contractors may review “samples of video frames to improve our reframing”.
- “explicit consent before data sharing with third-party AI models is not obtained”, with a consent mechanism described as in progress.
The word “training” does not appear in the policy text we read, so we cannot say whether your footage trains any model. If a VOD shows guests, private chats or sponsor material you cannot share, weigh that before uploading.
Who should shortlist Klap
- Streamers with commentary-heavy VODs under 3 hours, or willing to split them, who want clip-based billing.
- Anyone who posts a modest number of clips per stream and would otherwise pay for hours of source processing.
- People who want captions in many languages and one-tool publishing to five platforms.
- Developers who want a per-use API instead of a monthly plan.
Who should not buy it
- Streamers whose VODs are mostly silent gameplay, since Klap describes selection as speech-led: see clippers for Kick or Twitch streamers.
- Anyone with 4 to 6 hour VODs and no wish to split them.
- Anyone who needs written ownership and AI-training terms before uploading footage.
- High-volume clippers on monthly billing who would pay more per clip than a higher tier or a yearly plan would cost.
OpusClip alternatives is the nearest comparison page.
What to check on one of your own VODs
During the free trial:
- Paste a Twitch or Kick link. Does it work as the How Klap works page says, or does it ask for a file or YouTube link?
- Use a VOD section that mixes commentary with silent play, and note which parts produce clips.
- Compare the virality score with your own judgement. Would you post the top five?
- Try a prompt such as “reactions” or “funny moments”, then a second one, and see how much the set changes.
During a paid first month, inside the refund window:
- Test a Gaming or Split layout against your own overlay, using our facecam and gameplay layout guide.
- Check whether captions overlap the killfeed or HUD.
- Upload a 2 to 3 hour file. How long does it take?
- Export a clip and inspect the file. Then decide before the month ends.
How future measured tests would be rated is in our methodology; other verdicts are in reviews.
Last checked 8 November 2026. Prices and limits change; we re-check monthly.
Not tested yet
What a real test of this would need. None of it has been run.
- Owner-licensed or own gaming VOD, exact tool plan and version logged, raw outputs archived, clips scored by blind rater against the published rubric